Is that a bear you’re hugging?

They’re grizzly, ferocious and have been known to tear things to bits.  Yet every day, all kinds of people embrace and snuggle up to bears.  Not the wild, live ones, of course, but the soft, irresistible teddy bears that bring comfort and joy.  More than any other toy, they are the first choice as the friend that gets lugged around everywhere, the one that catches the tears, whispered secrets, tickles and giggles, cuddles and kisses.

I found myself thinking about the teddy bears in my life the other day.  The ones that have lent me a hand, lifted me up with a big bear hug,  sweetened my days with honey-dipped encouragement, patched up my hurts, and pawsed to imprint my heart with a trail of warmth, love, laughter and friendship.  Makes me want to go out and do the same.  How about you?  Won’t you be someone’s teddy bear today?

2 thoughts on “Is that a bear you’re hugging?

  1. Ellen Gelman

    Dear Maria
    I do feel warm and fuzzy and filled with joy after reading your note and reading your inspiring and uplifting blog. You are a pretty special lady so I am sending you three Goldilocks style bear hugs so you can embrace good feelings in whatever size suites your fancy.
    Fozzzy Bear Ellen

    Like

    Reply
    1. Maria Marino Post author

      Thank you for your sweet, kind words and the Goldilocks bears, Ellen. They are “just right!”. You realize, of course, that you are among my teddy bears mentioned in this post. It will also come to no surprise to anyone who knows you that your gift to surprise and delight took a leading role in the “Element of Surprise” post, and I definitely “Have You in My heart.” Having you as a friend makes me wish everyone in the world could get to know you. With this platform, my wish just may come true.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

