You are Never Ever Alone!

   I am with you - Genesis 28

It cuts like a rusted sword slicing through you with unimaginable force, piercing your heart with shooting pain that knocks you off your feet. And plunges you into a deep, dark place. Loneliness bites like a ferocious, hungry lion devouring the truth of what a gift you are to the world. That you have a purpose, you matter, and you are loved.

Is that you shaking with grief, feeling isolated, forgotten, alone? I wish I could jump right into your life and hug you tight until every drop of doubt and loneliness is squeezed out. This week Holley Gerth’s Coffee for Your Heart 2014  Series  invited us to pour out an encouraging “You’re not alone” message. I don’t know what you are facing today and I may not be able to come over and lift your spirits, but I hope what I share here will serve as a cup of comfort that assures you are not alone. You may feel lonely today but you are not alone. Not now. Not ever.

No, I’m not here to fill you with fluffy little morsels of sugar-coated advice topped with positive sprinkles. Not even an ounce of pie-in-the-sky quick fixes. Without making light of or trivializing what you are going through, your loneliness may disappear once you scoop up and trash the lies you’ve swallowed and taste the energizing truth. The first thing that came to mind when I thought about this week’s prompt is the When You Feel a Bit Lonely  post by Holley Gerth. I really liked how she passed along the wisdom of  “The surest way to keep from feeling left out is to let people in”  as she prompts “Then pick up the phone, send an email, go to a coffee shop, invite a friend to lunch, hug your kids, sign up for a committee, text someone–whatever you need to do to connect with one other person. Because chances are, loneliness has tried to visit them too.”  I know it must be hard to reach out to others when you don’t feel up to it but once you take that first step, you will start to move closer to that warm connection that will melt away the feeling  of loneliness.

What is that has made you believe you are alone? Has that misunderstanding crushed your faith in someone? Do you feel rejected? Different? Living alone or lost someone dear to you? If you’re feeling alone, it’s possible your feelings or circumstances may have snuffed out the light that reveals the people in your life who need you, want you, and love you. Have you cooked for someone lately? You are not alone. Have you helped someone? You are not alone. Have you given someone a smile, a hug, a kind word or two? You are not alone. If you spread that light across your memories do you see visions of someone holding your hand, a phone call that made your day, that birthday card, the compliment just when you needed it, all the times you heard the words “I love you” and ” thank you”? You are not alone.  Don’t give up. This world needs you, so go out there and shine your light and love.

One of the things that instantly carries me through my lonely moments is the reassurance that, no matter what, my heavenly father loves me. He is always with me. I am never alone. Not now. Not ever.

You can take His Word for it:

I am with you and will watch over you wherever you go. – Genesis 28:15

And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”  – Matthew 28:20

The Lord Himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” – Deuteronomy 31:8

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” – Joshua 1:9

God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” – Hebrews 13:5

I know the Lord is always with me. I will not be shaken, for He is right beside me. – Psalm 16:8

Fear not, for I am with you. – Isaiah 41:10

For more encouragement hop on over to Coffee for Your Heart at Holley’s place  to hear her message and link-up to more inspiring “You’re Not Alone” posts from the Coffee for Your Heart Community.

Holley Gerth's Coffee for Your Heart Image

Thank you  Holley Gerth
for the Coffee for Your Heart image


Spring It!

4 thoughts on “You are Never Ever Alone!

    1. Maria Marino Post author

      Thank you Holley for the invitation to pour some love and be part of the #CoffeeforYourHeart community. I hope you realize how much you are appreciated. Your words have made me smile, laugh, cry and touched my heart. I especially love your videos. The one without any make-up is my favorite so far. 🙂 XO

      Like

      Reply
  1. Beatriz Magana

    I so love all the scripture and reminders straight from the lips of our Creator! What more can we ask for? The difference for me was believing and walking the journey. Once I started, I knew He was always there. Thank you for the encouragement.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Maria Marino Post author

      Thank you for your kind words and sharing your journey Beatriz. Many thanks also for stopping by to take in the encouragement and the comforting words of our Creator. I appreciated your Coffee for your heart contribution too.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

