Speak Lord, I’m Listening

Speak Lord -  Coffee for Your Heart

“Speak , Lord, your servant is listening.” These words from the prophet Samuel came to me while sitting alone in church with a million question marks crowding my mind and heart. For me and for so many I love. Okay, maybe not quite a million but enough for me to call on God and ask Him what I should do. Then the funniest thing happened. While searching for answers, those question marks got swept aside to open up room for full screen, surround-sound memories of how He had been speaking to me all along. Not just directly to me but also in the precious people He whispered to on my account.

I remembered the Jesus Calling devotional and silver cross bracelet I received as a gift to bring peace and comfort when my beautiful sister lost her battle to cancer. The reunion with friends from elementary school that have blessed me beyond words. New friends born out of loss. The rekindled friendship I thought was gone forever. The perfectly timed text messages, phone calls, emails, and countless blog posts with just the right words. Not to mention getting a bouquet of tulips in the cold, storm-driven winter. Coffee for Your Heart poured out from the heart of God.

His voice travelled through familiar channels and unexpected circumstances to speak truth into my life. In my desire to do the right thing I discovered everything I needed to hear was there right in front of me. Messages spoken with words and audible acts of love echoing from the very heart of God. While I was focused on spotting the oasis, He was taking care of me in the desert.

There is still a pile of uncertainty staring me in the face, broken hearts I wish I could instantly put back together, and sorrows I want to wash away. Don’t like it one bit that I can’t fix everything and make it all better. But I can tell you this, I have found unspeakable peace and joy in the hardest season ever. Somehow, I sense everything will be okay and walk in trust one step at a time. I believe God’s voice will faithfully find its way to me and carry me through one day at a time. Confident His voice will guide to where others will be there for me and lead me back to Him time after time. The same is true for you.

Yes, this servant is listening. With gratitude. For my Lord’s voice that follows me wherever I go.

I hear God’s voice all the time in Holley Gerth’s encouraging words and the inspiring posts from the Coffee for Your Heart Community. Why not hop on over and grab some Coffee for Your Heart at Holley’s place and see what I mean? I think you’ll be glad you did. And come back each week for refills.

Holley Gerth's Coffee for Your Heart Image

Thank you  Holley Gerth
for the Coffee for Your Heart image


Spring It!

7 thoughts on “Speak Lord, I’m Listening

  1. blestbutstrest

    May God continue to send you what you need as you need it. I KNOW that he will help us in multiple ways JUST when we need help–but I, too, sometimes forget to sit silently to listen.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Maria Marino Post author

      Thank you for the encouragement and faith-full words Anita. I really appreciate it, So glad you stopped by and “introduced’ yourself. Your Coffee for Your Heart post today touched my heart and brought me to tears. Thank you for sharing it.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Makeda

    I really loved these words. The Father speaks quietly but when we are intentionally to slow then we are fully able to hear. Love that you were able to catch the whispers He was sending your way. Hugs to you dear friend.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Maria Marino Post author

      Thank you for your kind and encouraging words and especially for listening and sharing what The Father speaks to you through your blog Makeda. I feel so blessed to be among those who catch His whispers through Makeda’s Musings. Your words and pictures are a gift that He is using to touch, inspire, encourage and draw us to Him. Big thank you and hug right back at you precious friend!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Nazila

    Thank you sister for your beautiful post. I am all ears to listen God’s guidance to come out of a deep problem in my life. I hope Lord talk to me too.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Maria Marino Post author

      Thank you for your kind words Nazila. My heart is lifted in prayer for you right now and I know He hears. I have asked God for His word for you and I heard Proverbs 3:5-6 come to me:

      Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do and he will show you which path to take.

      Hope this means something to you and speaks to your deep problem. One of the things I love about Jesus Calling is that it’s written in the first person.With the grief over losing my sister it helped clear the way to hear because it feels like Jesus is actually speaking. Hang in there dear one. Keep listening and His voice will surely come through to you. Please feel free to let me know how/when he does. God bless you.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

