No Greater Love

Have you seen the poster of Jesus hanging on the cross with these words written on it?

I asked Jesus “How much do you love me?”  “This much,” He replied. Then He stretched out His arms and died.

No Greater Love

It’s been years since I first read those words and I still got choked up as I wrote them here. That’s what gets me about Good Friday. Even more than what it cost Him. The ridicule. The physical torture. Abandoned by His friends. Falsely accused. Whipped. Stripped. Spat at. Slapped in the face. Flesh torn. Heart ripped apart. By those He came down to save. Crushed under the weight of all the sins from the beginning of time. None of them His. More than all the suffering and sacrifice, what really tears me up is that Jesus went to hell and back for me because…He….loves..me.

I like the way Max Lucado put it in When God Whispers Your Name, “Nails did’t hold God to a cross. Love did.”  Jesus didn’t have to go through with it you know. He had a choice. He knew what was coming next when He prayed in anguish with sweat like drops of blood falling to the ground. And he said “yes” anyway. He chose to lay down His life for me… and for you because of His great big deep and wide love for us. With His last breath He confirmed

There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.  ~ John 15:13

The good news is the love story didn’t end on Good Friday. Nor did it end with Jesus. That was just the beginning. Here and now, this very day Jesus lives in our hearts so we can walk through life with armloads of grande mugs of Coffee for Your Heart as we love one another with the same extravagant, outrageous love He lavishes on us.

And there’s whole lot more loving going on today at Coffee for Your Heart at Holley’s place. You’ll find a generous helping of love, encouragement, and inspiration by the cupful as you link up with the Coffee for Your Heart Community. Happy Easter!

Holley Gerth's Coffee for Your Heart Image

Thank you  Holley Gerth
for the Coffee for Your Heart image


Spring It!

2 thoughts on “No Greater Love

  1. blestbutstrest

    I love the image of love holding Jesus on the cross…I often fail to show love through even little acts of service and kindness–but look what Jesus did for me. It humbles me and makes me want to love better.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Maria Marino Post author

      I have that Max Lucado quote about love holding Jesus on the cross on my wall.The image touches my heart too,Thank you for sharing your thoughts and your heart Anita. I feel the same way; humbled and wanting to love better.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

