Dear God, I Don’t Understand

Dear God,

I don’t understand that hurricanes, tornadoes, earthquakes and endless drought destroy crops, business, homes and steal the lives of of way too many loved ones.

I don’t understand that there is such a thing as human trafficking; a world where human beings are bought and sold to work as slaves.  Some forced into the sex trade, robbed of their childhood, emptied of their dignity.

I don’t understand how the one who promises to love, honour and comfort can just walk away and take up with another. How can a mother who carries her baby close to her heart for nine months abandon or abuse the child she gave birth too?

Lord, I don’t understand that there are innocent people rotting in prison while despicable criminals run free. That bad things happen to good people.

I don’t understand why people have to suffer so much. Why some people will never see the beauty in this world, hear the sound of music or the voice of a loved one. Some will never walk or speak what’s on their minds. Why do we have diseases that slowly, painfully take the lives of precious human beings? I don’t understand how mental illness and Alzheimer’s trap people into a lonely, empty space where the brain reduces life to a ruined wasteland.

Dear God, I don’t understand war, poverty, prejudice. addiction, suicide, rape, burglary, miscarriage, infertility, betrayal or greed. I just don’t understand the sad, bad things in this world.

Ontario sunset photo for you thanks to a friend

Ontario sunset photo for you thanks to a friend

I don’t understand what makes someone leave family, friends and a comfortable homeland to defend, protect, bring peace, freedom and aid to people they don’t even know. What sends missionaries off to faraway lands knowing they will be despised and persecuted? How can someone recklessly dash into a burning building to rescue a person trapped inside? What makes someone do without year after year so they can help someone in need? Or choose forgiveness over restitution?

Oh Lord, I don’t understand how you make a rainbow, paint delicate, luscious flowers, or shape all those creatures, great and small. I don’t understand that you gave us azure skies, light fluffy clouds, sunsets, gentle rains, deep blue seas and food that taste so delicious.

I don’t understand all the beauty and goodness that exits in this world.

Lord, I don’t understand. Why did you make creatures in your own image to rule the world when you knew we would mess up over and over again? How could you love us so much you sacrificed your only Son so we could spend eternity with You? Or trade Your throne in heaven for a crown of thorns?  Why, oh why, would you watch over us, take care of every need, and lavish us with so many good things? I just don’t understand.

Some things I will never understand on this side of heaven. But this I know.  You are faithful. You are merciful. You are in control. You will make all things come together for good someday, somehow..and You love us like crazy! Therefore, I will trust You always.

One day, when I see You face to face, all my questions will be answered. Till then, Lord, I pray to 

know You better,

love You more,

and be more like You!

Sometimes God gives us just the right thing to hear that helps us understand His ways. Like the post on how your time is in God’s hands at Holley Gerth’s place today. So hop on over for a generous outpouring of love, encouragement, and inspiration by the cupful as you link up with her and the Coffee for Your Heart Community.

Thank you  Holley Gerth
for the Coffee for Your Heart image

4 thoughts on “Dear God, I Don’t Understand

  1. Deborah Bolton

    Maria, I love your blog post. I am 62 years old, and I don’t understand either.An However, I know God loves me, He has a plan, and He sent His Son to die and rise from the dead. He loves us so much, He sent His only son. That is awesome! And, all the things you said too. Hugs, Deborah

    Like

    Reply
    1. Maria Marino Post author

      Thank you for your comments Deborah. Your words are such a blessings and so very true. Awesome indeed. Thank you for stopping by to share your heart and faith. Hugs back at you!

      Like

      Reply
  2. josiebarone

    Thank you so much for sharing! Beautiful encouragement when I don’t understand to change my focus to knowing Him — loving Him — and being more like Him. Awesome!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Maria Marino Post author

      Thank you for your sweet encouragement Josie. You have a beautiful heart and a way with words. I visited your blog and really enjoyed reading it and the catching the inspiring messages. Thank you for sharing them and stopping by here.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

