Music to God’s Ears

Sometimes I think the good Lord must get amused to bits by the silliness of His children. Like the time I headed out to the park all decked out in heels, singing through invisible rain, accompanied by my Shower Songbook!

I got quite the chuckle out of these pictures when I came across them a while back. Tickled me right down to my toes remembering all the fun that day with photographer-friend Ann Stigter! Then I put the photos away and forgot all about them. Till the other day when the one with the clown nose popped into my head along with the  “Let everything that breathes sing praises to the Lord!” verse.

If you’ve ever heard me sing, you will totally get how funny this connection is. There ain’t nothing pretty about what comes out of my mouth when I attempt to carry a tune. I’m what people call “certifiably musically declined”.  But oh, how I love to sing! Anything and anywhere. Fast or slow. Loud or soft. Alone or with company. In good times. In tough times. I love to sing.

Funny thing is, the sound of my voice lifted in praise is music to God’s ears.  He hears gratitude, love, and joy in every word and note in harmony with the rhythm of His heart. Imagine that! The excruciating strain that wilts flowers and makes dogs howl reaches the ears of The Almighty as a beautiful, symphonic melody. And it pleases Him.

No wonder the bible is full of passages about singing.  The perfect expression of that love, joy and gratitude to our awesome God who denies us no good thing.  Words like these spoken long ago and still resonate today.

Worship the Lord with gladness; come before him with joyful songs.    ~ Psalm 100:2

Our mouths were filled with laughter, our tongues with songs of joy. Then it was said among the nations, “The Lord has done great things for them.” ~ Psalm 126:2 

Let them also offer sacrifices of thanksgiving, and tell of His works with joyful singing. ~ Psalm 107:22 

Shout with joy to the Lord, all the earth; burst into songs and make music. ~ Psalm 98:4 

I will sing to the Lord all my life; I will sing praise to my God as long as I live. ~ Psalm 104:33 

Sing for joy to God, our strength; shout out loud to the God of Jacob. ~Psalms 81:1 

I hope this silly post put a smile on your face and got you all riled up about all the things that make you sing for joy with love and gratitude. Things like the scandalous secret Holley Gerth reveals in this week’s link-up.  So why not hop over to her blog today for cupfuls of encouragement and inspiration poured by her and the Coffee for Your Heart  Community.

Thank you  Holley Gerth
for the Coffee for Your Heart image

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

