Chasing Blue Skies With a Prayer for New Beginnings

Northern Ireland by Elton Baretto

Thank you to the very talented Elton Baretto for this gorgeous photo!

Would you believe Chasing Blue Skies  is one of my favourite things in the world to do? That’s because I get to catch an exhilarating rush of fresh-air-hope with the enchanting, fun-loving, beautiful-hearted  and oh, so talented Kristen Strong. I just about squeal with delight whenever her posts pop up. It’s like opening up a box of Cracker Jack –  a little nutty, sweet to the core and packed with a special prize inside.

From Kristen I’ve picked up great book recommendations, snatched a peek into getting a “Stitch Fix” and wrapped my heart around leaving a real deal legacy. I’ve been shown what it’s like to be a military family,  25 Ways to Be a {Lovely, Appreciated, Bomb Diggedy} Friend and how “God never asks us to skim over troubles but to trust Him with them.”

I love her encouraging spirit, how she shares the things of everyday life and challenges, and that she uses silly phrases like “Stressy McStessersons!” So much about her to love, enjoy and be grateful for.

Today I am especially thankful for her permission to share the prayer from her  When Your New Beginning Does Not Begin Well (in)courage post. This prayer brings tears to my eyes and gets me every time. I read it often and suspect you will want to too.

You may want to copy this and keep it close to your heart so I pulled out the prayer to provide easy and quick access. I invite you to also read the post in its entirety. No doubt you’ll be glad you did and be blessed by it…especially if you are facing a new beginning or season.

               Dear Heavenly Father,

I stepped out to make a place for myself, and I tripped up rather than took off. I feel embarrassed, nervous, worn out and just plain tried out. I know You understand, and because of You, this stumbling block to my new beginning is only a part of my story rather than the end of it.

Where would any of us be without Your daily (hourly?) offerings of fresh starts? A splayed-out mess at the bottom of the stairs, that’s where. Thank You for giving me a fresh start right here, right now. Thank You for showing me that walking in Your will is walking in success. Thank You for giving me a sure identity in You, not in outcomes.

When I contemplate retreating, let me retreat in Your love. When I think about running, let me run confidently forward in the abundant gifts You’ve tailor-made specifically for me. Give me the ability to see how my decisions today affect the story of my future. When I flip through the memory books of my life, may I see plenty evidence of taking Your hand and walking courageously in Your plans for me. Along the way, may I learn the art of taking myself less seriously. And thank You that no matter if I fly or fall, You make every story good.

And You end every story well.

In the name of Jesus, the One Who is head over heels in love with me,
Amen

I met Kristen through Holley Gerth’s God-sized Dream link-up last year and it’s been an amazing ride looking up to heaven with her while taking in the view of life’s twists and turns along the way. This year we’re hooking-up to pour out a little love and Coffee for Your Heart  encouragement at Holley’s place each week. Won’t you join me there today for a cup of refreshing inspiration?

Thank you  Holley Gerth
for the Coffee for Your Heart image

Leave a Reply

