Even though…

They sure know how to light up a room no matter how dark it is. Those incredible people who take hard knocks as an invitation to open the door to let inexplicable, unspeakable joy come waltzing in.

Joy to the World Dessert Plate
They are my heroes who bring joy to the world…and to my life. The ones no one would blame if they were a tad bitter, angry or discouraged. Instead, they are beacons of gratitude and love, a light that radiates joy. The losses, disappointments, betrayals, set-backs, illnesses no match for their unwavering faith and endless hope.

They are people of strength and courage, my inspiration. Shining role models who live out one of my favourite verses:

Even though the fig trees have no blossoms, and there are no grapes on the  vines; even though the olive crop fails, and the fields lie empty and barren; even though the flocks die in the fields, and the cattle barns are empty, yet I will rejoice in the Lord! I will be joyful in the Lord of my salvation! The Sovereign Lord is my strength! You make me as surefooted as a deer, able to tread upon the heights. ~ Habakkuk 3:17-19

Even though life has assaulted them with the bad, the ugly and downright dirty their hearts overflow with boundless joy. Joy that’s contagious and spreads wherever and everywhere they go.

I can’t explain it completely, but can tell you this. I am so grateful for each and every one of them. They show me how to bring joy to life so I can do the same. No matter what. Even when it seems impossible.

Because of them I know we can choose joy and find it. Even on coldest nights and darkest days. So, if this Christmas you’re feeling a little not so holly jolly, I believe there’s still room for joy to light up your heart and brighten your days.

Even though your load may be heavy or your hurt deep, I pray you never lose hope or doubt what you are capable of. The warm glow from your firecracker joy just might be that much-needed spark that ignites someone’s life with a blaze of crackling joy. A joy that fires up way beyond your immediate striking distance. Probably in more ways than you’ll ever know.

One of the brightest lights that has brought me so much joy over the years is Holley Gerth. That’s why I’m so delighted to link you up with her again this week to share a cup or two of encouraging Coffee for Your Heart.

Thank you  Holley Gerth
for the Coffee for Your Heart image

Leave a Reply

