I Have Heard your Prayer…

She was hardly someone we would rush to invite to dinner. After all, wasn’t the shame of an empty womb painful enough for Sarah without Hagar taunting her with contempt? And that kid of hers Ishmael! Was it really necessary he mock and make fun of his half-brother Isaac? Rather nasty I’d say. No wonder they found themselves on the run and the eventually evicted from Abraham’s household.

But I have to admit my heart goes out to them whenever I read about how they wandered aimlessly in the wilderness. Rips my heart to bits imagining the scene:

When the water was gone, she put the boy in the shade of a bush. Then she went and sat down by herself about a hundred yards away. “I don’t want to watch the boy die,” she said, as she burst into tears.  ~ Genesis 21:15-16

Brings me to tears too. Obviously moved the heart of God as well. True to the “God hears” meaning of Ishmael’s name the Lord …

…heard the boy crying, and the angel of God called to Hagar from heaven, “Hagar, what’s wrong? Do not be afraid! God has heard the boy crying as he lies there.  Go to him and comfort him, for I will make a great nation from his descendants.” ~ Genesis 21:17-18

Their needs reached God’s ears and He saw every tear fall. In desolate wilderness Hagar started referring to God by the name “You are the God who sees me” because she knew first hand how He sees, He listens, He cares, and He responds. It held true for a lowly servant girl and her wayward son. It held true as He assured royal King Hezekiah years later:

I have heard your prayer

The same holds true for me and you this very day. And always.

Isn’t it comforting to know that whatever we are going through, we are never out of God’s watchful eye? We are not alone. Our heavenly Father is looking after us and will see us through. One day, one moment at a time.

As I read 2 Kings 20:5 recently I remembered the time peace washed over me as “I have heard your prayer and seen your tears” echoed in my heart like a voice from heaven. I just knew it was God speaking to me and the tears stopped. My prayer is that those words do the same for you whenever you cry out to God or cry your heart out. That your heartache will be replaced with peace, your tears washed away with joy, and you feel the love and presence of God who hears each prayer and sees every tear.

One of the most beautiful stories of God hearing our prayers and seeing our tears is about a couple on their knees longing for children and a girl without parents who just wanted to be loved. Our loving Father who listens with His heart wide open answered their prayer and silenced their tears when He brought them together in an unexpected way. Holley Gerth is the mamma in this circle of love and shares more about it in a way that will encourage you and move you to tears…the good kind. You’ll also see Mary, the mother of Jesus, in a new light as her words bring comfort for when your hopes seem to be on hold.

Oh yes, and there’s more. Lovelle Gerth-Meyers, that child who ached for love just got married Jan 3.  Her What My Wedding Meant to Me will touch your heart beyond words as she pours out  “It was about God, His ability to answer even the craziest of our hearts’ desires, and His ability to redeem.” 

Yup! Sometimes God gives us each other as an answer to our prayers and tears. That’s why I love linking us up  to Holley’s site where we gather together for Coffee for your Heart made with love, encouragement and the promises of God.

Thank you  Holley Gerth
for the Coffee for Your Heart image

4 thoughts on “I Have Heard your Prayer…

    1. Maria Marino Post author

      Thank you so much for stopping by and your thoughtful, encouraging comment Diane. Visited your place too today. It’s a lovely, uplifting space with some of the most beautiful photography I have ever seen. Thank you for sharing your heart and your talent.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Maria Marino Post author

      So true Sarah and thank you for sharing that faith that gets us through tough times and is a light all the time in “Strain Me”. Thank you for inviting us to ride alongside you in your faith journey.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

