For the Joy of the Cross

Jesus was born on Christmas Day to bring joy to the world.

For the Joy Cross

On Good Friday He died to make that joy complete. And that gave Him joy, knowing His mission for the people on earth was nailed by way of the cross. He would soon be returning to our heavenly Father with a place reserved for us. The road through Calvary leading us home.

 And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us.  We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith. Because of the joy awaiting Him, He endured the cross, disregarding its shame. – Hebrews 12:1-2 

Hebrews 12:1-2 was always a moving passage for me. With joy being my one word for 2016, it means even more. When I think of what my redemption cost Him and how much love was poured out in His suffering, it blows me away that as my savior hung on that cross, gasping for breath, He actually felt joy. For me.  And for you.

So today, at the foot of the cross, I commit anew to run with endurance the race God has set before me. For the joy that ransomed me. His joy rooted in sacrifical love. The joy that set me free. For the joy that awaits when we see Jesus face to face. Home at last in heaven with Him forever.

I never make it through Good Friday without crying. This year, those tears will be mingled with joy as I ponder the joy of the Lord who lived and died for me.

I am a hope writer

 

With joy, I invite you to link-up  with Holley Gerth for a Good Friday and every day cup of encouraging Coffee for your Heart. 

                                              

 

Leave a Reply

